Thursday, August 1, 2013

what I ate Wednesday #1

I don't want to post what I eat everyday because that would not only be boring but laborious, but I do find it helpful when other bloggers post a random sampling of their diet to get a general idea of what they eat.

Here is my commitment to post what I eat every Wednesday, for better or for worse.

Yesterday, my friends, was unfortunately for worse.

Here's what I ate:
Breakfast: two chocolate chip cookies (home-baked GF), oatmeal, coffee
Lunch: Fruit smoothie (goat milk yogurt, OJ, strawberries, peaches, pineapple, flax seeds), hummus and GF crackers
Dinner: Handful of chips & salsa, three carne asada soft tacos (one tortilla each) w/ pico de gallo, side of rice and refried beans, mojito
Snack: GF beer and handful of tortilla chips w/spinach artichoke dip

Workout: 45 minute hike

So I know you're thinking "You're eating like this and expecting to lose more weight?!?" On a normal day, I'm not. This is why I think a set day a week is good to show what I eat because I absolutely do not believe in depriving myself and for the most part, I do eat pretty healthfully. The cookies in the morning were impulsive because I had just baked them the night before and they were sitting next to the coffee maker. I promptly bagged them up and put them in the pantry to get them out of my sight, and I haven't had any since.

Looking back at this list of food, I realize it's actually not all that bad, but something went terribly, terribly wrong leading me to wake up with horrible stomach pain and the oh-so-familiar feeling of needing to throw up. Right after I did I felt much better, but my stomach has still been really off all day.

I've been racking my brain to figure out where I went wrong, because six months ago I was throwing up from a combination of GERD and an unrealized gluten allergy on a weekly basis and it was HORRIBLE. I literally had to leave class while teaching a couple of times to throw up in the bathroom, and since I have stopped eating gluten I haven't thrown up once.

Flashback to last night, and I know I didn't eat gluten, but I did eat late at night because we grabbed some drinks with friends and I needed to eat a bit in order to be able to drive later.

This is all I can think of and it's frustrating because my body is just so damn sensitive. Just when I think I'm doing right by my stomach, something like this happens and I'm back to feeling like I'm screwed no matter what I eat.

All I have had today is oatmeal, hot green tea, a few GF crackers, and corn pasta w/ daiya (dairy and soy free) cheese because I don't think I can stomach anything else. Hopefully I'm back to normal tomorrow, and we'll see what I end up eating next Wednesday.

No comments:

Post a Comment